Wed, 05 Aug 2020

Truex lands pole for NASCAR All-Star Race

Field Level Media
14 Jul 2020, 15:40 GMT+10

Martin Truex Jr., coming off a runner-up finish at Kentucky, will start on the pole Wednesday for the NASCAR All-Star Race at Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway.

The lineup was determined Monday night in a draw among the 16 automatic entrants. That group includes race winners from last year and thisyear, previous All-Star race winners and past NASCAR Cup Series champions who entered every event this year.

Next to Truex's No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota will be Alex Bowman's No. 88 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet.

NASCAR Cup Series point leader Kevin Harvick, a four-time winner this year, will start fifth. Cole Custer, who won the Quaker State 400 on Sunday at Kentucky Speedway, will start eighth in the All-Star Race.

Four spots remain available for the All-Star Race. Three will go to the stage winners of the All-Star Open, to be held earlier Wednesday evening at Bristol. The 20th and final position will be given to the winner of a fan vote.

Michael McDowell was assigned the pole for the All-Star Open.


Wednesday, 8:30 p.m. ET, Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway, 140 laps, 74.6 miles

1. Martin Truex Jr., No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing

2. Alex Bowman, No. 88 Hendrick Motorsports

3. Ryan Blaney, No. 12 Team Penske

4. Justin Haley, No. 77 Spire Motorsports

5. Kevin Harvick, No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing

6. Matt Kenseth, No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing

7. Kurt Busch, No. 1 Chip Ganassi Racing

8. Cole Custer, No. 41 Stewart-Haas Racing

9. Brad Keselowski, No. 2 Team Penske

10. Kyle Busch, No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing

11. Ryan Newman, No. 6 Roush Fenway Racing

12. Joey Logano, No. 22 Team Penske

13. Chase Elliott, No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports

14. Jimmie Johnson, No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports

15. Denny Hamlin, No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing

16. Erik Jones, No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing

17. Winner of Open Stage 1

18. Winner of Open Stage 2

19. Winner of Open Stage 3

20. Fan Vote winner


Wednesday, 7 p.m. ET, Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway, 85 laps, 45.305 miles

1. Michael McDowell, No. 34 Front Row Motorsports

2. Aric Almirola, No. 10 Stewart-Haas Racing

3. Christopher Bell, No. 95 Leavine Family Racing

4. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. , No. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing

5. Tyler Reddick, No. 8 Richard Childress Racing

6. Bubba Wallace, No. 43 Richard Petty Motorsports

7. William Byron, No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports

8. Chris Buescher, No. 17 Roush Fenway Racing

9. Clint Bowyer, No. 14 Stewart-Haas Racing

10. Matt DiBenedetto, No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing

11. Austin Dillon, No. 3 Richard Childress Racing

12. Ryan Preece, No. 37 JTG Daugherty Racing

13. JJ Yeley, No. 27 Rick Ware Racing

14. Garrett Smithley, No. 53 Rick Ware Racing

15. Brennan Poole, No. 15 Premium Motorsports

16. Quin Houff, No. 00 StarCom Racing

17. Timmy Hill (withdrawn) , No. 66 Motorsports Business Management

18. Joey Gase, No. 51 Petty Ware Racing

19. Daniel Suarez, No. 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing

20. John Hunter Nemechek, No. 38 Front Row Motorsports

21. Ty Dillon, No. 13 Germain Racing

22. Corey LaJoie, No. 32 Go Fas Racing

--Field Level Media

More Louisville News

Access More

Sign up for Louisville News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!